Ewell Village Bowling Club

Syd Brown Trophy 2018

Last updated - 07/03/2018 3:08pm

A friendly, internal competition for 4 Players, 2 bowls, 16 ends

Organisers :  Tracie Bailey and Dennis Kearns.

We welcome all Syd Brown Trophy players to this year’s competition. Teams will comprise 4 players. There are 6 teams, Grizzly Bears, Brown Bears, Black Bears, Panda Bears, Polar Bears and Koala Bears, each headed by a team leader, whose job it is to allocate players to fixtures, and generally be the point of contact with the organisers. As new members join the club they will be encouraged to join the Syd Brown Trophy, so, hopefully, team numbers will increase as the season progresses.  Please give the organisers and your team leader full support, particularly by turning out on the dates you have agreed to play, and on time, i.e. be at the club at 2.00 pm to get ready, help assemble the equipment, etc., so that games can start promptly at 2.30 pm.

By definition the Syd Brown Trophy, being a competition, will inevitably be played competitively. It is also a league fixture to be enjoyed, and it’s our sincere hope that the enjoyment aspect will prevail. With a measure of goodwill, I’m sure it will. It just remains to wish everyone a happy Syd Brown.

Syd Brown Competition – Rules For 2018

Matches will be played on designated Tuesdays and Thursday. Play will start at 2.30pm. However, if at this time a team is a player short, a game can be delayed by a maximum of 15 minutes to allow for her/his late arrival. 

Each Team will consist of 4 players. Two bowls. Games of 16 ends.

If a team is one player short No’s 1 and 2 will play 3 bowls. The team with 3 will be deducted 1/3 of their score.

It is hoped that this next rule will not need to be used.  But if by exception both opposing teams are unable to comply with the 4 player per team rule, a game can be played 3 players against 3 players.  Two bowls per player: 18 ends.

Points for a Win 2; Points for a Draw 1.

Rain affected Play.  If fewer than 7 ends have been completed when, in the Duty Organiser’s opinion, the competition should be ‘abandoned’, disrupted fixtures will be replayed on one of the two afternoons kept free for ‘replays’, but if the organisers find that due to ‘fixture congestion’ on these dates it is not possible to replay a game, 2 points will be awarded to each team.

A game ‘abandoned’ after 7 ends have been completed: the points will be awarded per the score card at the time of ‘abandonment’.

The Duty Organiser’s decisions are final.

Start 2.30 pm

Thursday, 7 June 18 Brown v Black Grizzly v Polar Pandas v Koala
Tuesday, 12 June 18 Black v Polar Koala v Pandas Grizzly v Brown
Thursday, 21 June 18 Pandas v Polar Grizzly v Black Brown v Koala
Tuesday, 26 June 18 Black v Koala Polar v Brown Pandas v Grizzly
Thursday, 5 July 18 Polar v Black Pandas v Brown Koala v Grizzly
Tuesday, 10 July 18 Brown v Polar Black v Pandas Grizzly v Koala
Thursday, 19 July 18 Black v Grizzly Polar v Pandas Koala v Brown
Thursday, 2 August 18 Brown v Grizzly Pandas v Black Polar v Koala
Tuesday, 7 August 18 Brown v Pandas Polar v Grizzly Koala v Black
Tuesday, 14 August 18 Grizzly v Pandas Black v Brown Koala v Polar

Grizzly Pandas Black Brown Polar Koala
Dennis Kearns * Veena Parmar * Jim Shrubb * Martin Bailey * Maureen Harding* Jim Looker *
Vivien Reynolds Georgie Lello Doreen Brice Heather Blakeburn Gil Young Bridie Alexander
Tony Blakeburn Derek Learwood Bernard Bristow Joyce Hutchings Irene Humphries Tracie Bailey
Eric Webb Roy Hibbin Geoffrey Lello James Delahunt Keith Shepherd Jeff Cousins
Jane Cresswell Betty Bond Margaret Golding Gary Cresswell Eliie Merry Ron Taylor
Lynda Learwood  Valerie Crowhurst Peter Blyth Fred Humphries Joe MacDonald Alison Cousins
Alton Lott Chris Matthews Ken Davis Sue Batterham Jim Bradley Bruce Urqhart